Old Friends and New Dresses

Yesterday, I went out to lunch with my good friend Mara. This was really exciting for me, since I hadn’t seen her in about two years. I met Mara and her family during my semester abroad, at church. She had given a talk, and I went over to her afterwards to discuss it. Then, I realized she was American, and I was so glad I could talk to someone in English! Of course, it doesn’t hurt that she and her husband are super-cool, and funny, and also really nice.

All of this is why I was so pumped to meet up with Mara again. We went to Blue Iguana, a Mexican restaurant in Salt Lake. This place has some seriously delicious food. Of course, I’m a big fan of spicy food, so that was one big point in its favor already. I ordered the Tinga Poblana, which is a spicy pork burrito. It wasn’t so spicy you couldn’t taste the food, though, which was a plus. They also have amazing guacamole, too.

Step 1: Eat. Step 2: Contented sigh.

After lunch, we went to H&M (aka The Happiest Place on Earth). Seriously, when I went abroad, I turned into a total H&M junkie. I spent way more time (and money) there than was really appropriate, and could even tell you which of the two stores in town was better for buying certain things: the one in St. Stephen’s Square, which was housed in a beautiful turn-of-the-century department store, had lots of the really trendy stuff; the Mariahilf location was better for professional wear.

No, I don’t have a problem. Why do you ask?

The H&M in Salt Lake had lots of great dresses, although some of them were a little…bold for me: like the long-sleeved dress that was covered in shiny blue sequins. It was cute, but I felt like a disco ball.

This is not a fun feeling.

Instead, I ended up getting a white sleeveless dress with little brass buttons at the waist. It’s really pretty, and just heavy enough that it can last into fall. Now, I’ll just need to find some boots to wear with it.

The game’s…dare I say it…afoot!

Leave a Reply

