NaBloPoMo

You’re probably wondering what that title is for. But first, I’ll tell you what it isn’t:

  • The name of a Cambodian dictator
  • The Rapa Nui (Easter Island) goddess of agriculture (fun fact: her name is Manana Take)
  • National Blow Pop Month (although wouldn’t that be awesome? Let’s do that)

    Dear Blow Pop People: Call me. Let’s do this! (picture courtesy of tnhistoryforkids.org)

It actually stands for National Blog Posting Month, an initiative by BlogHer. Throughout the month of July, participants agree to:

  1. Post every day of the month, and
  2. Check out the other participating blogs, and show them a little love.

Since I know myself, and know that I need to be held accountable for posting more regularly, this seemed like a brilliant idea. Also: they have nifty little prompts for each day, just in case you are having trouble and don’t want to do another “heavily Instagrammed trip through the day’s meals” post.

(from iwastesomuchtime.com)

As it happens, I’ve actually been doing some things lately, and can tell you all about them! First off, on the Fulbright front: I have just gotten my birth certificate (with apostille) back from the Commonwealth of Virginia! This means that I now have all of the paperwork I need to complete my residency permit application. Success.

Progress feels good.

Next, I made cookies yesterday. Not just cookies, mind you, but lemon crisp cookies, which are wonderful and delicious and better than chocolate chip cookies (full disclosure: I hate chocolate chip cookies. I think they’re too sweet, and I really dislike the taste of chocolate chips, even when they’re the milk chocolate kind instead of semi-sweet. I know, it’s un-American: I’ve already been called a godless Commie. In my defense, I make an amazing apple pie, and no one says “as American as chocolate chip cookies”, do they?)

I’ll bring the baked goods!

But back to the cookies. They’re basically sugar cookies, but with the zest of a whole lemon and the juice of half added in. I found the recipe on Pinterest (of course), and it comes from the blog Whisk Kid, but in case the link doesn’t work, I’ll post the recipe here:

1/2 c (118 g) unsalted butter, room temp
3/4 c (149 g)sugar
1 egg, room temp
1 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice (I just used the juice of half a lemon)
1 1/2 Tbsp lemon zest (I used the zest from the whole lemon)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 c (156 g) flour

Preheat oven to 350F (175C).
Cream together the butter and sugar, then add the egg, juice, zest and vanilla. Sift in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Drop by 1 1/2 tsps onto lined baking sheets and bake 10-12 min until lightly golden around edges. Let cool on sheets one minute before placing on racks to cool completely. Makes about 2 dozen.

Now, when I made these cookies, I actually did get about 2 dozen, which is rare for me. Also, mine were not as pretty and perfectly round as hers; rather, they broke free of their bonds and ran a bit willy-nilly over the baking sheet, but since that just means bigger cookies I figure it’s a success. It also likely has something to do with the fact that the cookie dough was on the warmer side, but I would have to try them again to be sure. It’s completely worth it, though, because these cookies are delicious and light and not too sweet.

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo

  1. I approve of these cookies, and since I have a few lemons rolling around in my fridge at the moment, I might try them. I also approve of your picture of the Communist Party. Rock on.

  2. Pingback: On Being Useful Again « marillenbaum

Leave a Reply

