The Recipe Box: Nigella’s Caramel Croissant Pudding

Yesterday, we got some much-needed rain here in the Wasatch Front (I’m sure you’ve heard about the wildfires), and it put me in a bit of a mood to bake something. Now, I’ve always been a fan of baking–just ask my parents, who bought me an Easy-Bake Oven at the age of eight, and then decided to just let me use the grown-up oven when they realized how overpriced the replacement packs were. But lately, I haven’t indulged in my love of all things eggy and floury, because  I haven’t found something I really wanted to make.

Until now, that is. My mom and I love watching Nigella Lawson on the Cooking Channel, and while I was skimming my Pinterest recipe board I realized I had pinned a recipe I had seen–and wanted to try–from her show: Caramel Croissant Pudding. And wouldn’t you know, we had a couple of slightly stale croissants just sitting around the kitchen, waiting to be used. When the stars align like that, you don’t just ignore it. No: you bake.

So, here’s the recipe: (NOTE: the recipe calls for bourbon, but if you’re out–or don’t keep booze in the house–just do what we did, and substitute a splosh of vanilla. It’s still delicious!)

  • 2 stale croissants
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • eggs, beaten

Tear the croissants into pieces and put in a small oval dish, like this.

Why yes, you CAN see my shadow as I try to take this picture. I’m new to food photography.

Put the sugar and water into a saucepan, and swirl around to help dissolve the sugar before putting the saucepan on the hob over medium to high heat. Caramelize the sugar and water mixture by letting it bubble away until it all turns a deep amber colour; this will take 3 to 5 minutes. Keep looking but don’t be too timid.

It may feel like it’s taking forever, but it changes really quickly at the end of the 3-5 minutes (more like five, especially if you’re keeping it on the lower end of medium to avoid scorching).

Take the pan off the heat and add the cream – ignoring all spluttering – followed by the bourbon and milk .Whisk to mix, then still whisking add the beaten eggs. Pour this quickly over the croissants and leave to steep for 10 minutes.

In the event that you don’t have the right kind of cream, just use some canned whip cream. Sometimes you just have to innovate.

Place in the preheated oven for 20 minutes and prepare to swoon.

Delicious.

Seriously, this is super-good: warm, sweet, with a great texture. Give it a try!

One thought on “The Recipe Box: Nigella’s Caramel Croissant Pudding

Leave a Reply

