A Short Update

Dear everyone,

I’m so sorry I haven’t been posting lately; when I arrived in Vienna, I didn’t have wi-fi, and so have not had a chance to update you on what is going on here. I am now ensconced in my room at the Diplomatic Academy. The room itself is great: spacious, high ceilings, hardwood floors, a shower and sink so I don’t have to pretend to be polite to people first thing in the morning when I just want to wash my face and brush my teeth. That said, I can see how it could feel a bit Spartan, especially given our very strict rule against making holes in the walls. Also, what was marketed on the school website as a hall kitchen is just some cabinets, a slightly larger fridge than the ones in rooms, two burners, and a microwave. Seriously. No oven. This means: no casseroles, no pizza, no lasagna, which means my attempts to eat cheaply are taking a blow. I’m not even sure how they expect you to cook in there. Most likely, they don’t: they expect you to pay for the meal service in the canteen, so you’re only using the “kitchen” for weekends and holidays, when the canteen isn’t open.

Russel doesn’t like this any more than I do.

All the same, I’m glad to be somewhat more settled and and to have met some really great people. It will take some time, but I’m sure I’ll get more comfortable–especially once I have more of my paperwork finished and classes have started. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

