Looking Forward To Things

The semester is (finally!) winding down: I’ve finished all of my exams, the student magazine is nearly ready to print, and we’ve got our Christmas party on Friday night. Now it finally feels right to let myself look forward to all the lovely things I’ve been waiting for.

via Jim, the Photographer on Flickr

via Jim, the Photographer on Flickr

Why now? You might rightly ask. There’s certainly nothing wrong with a little (or a lot of) anticipation. But even last week, it felt like there was rather too much to be done, and spending time thinking about what I was going to do on vacation and such felt a little foolish, a little self-indulgent, and certainly not helpful in getting everything accomplished that needed to be. But now—my German exam has been postponed until the New Year, and I haven’t got any skills seminars next week, which means that my time can now be almost exclusively devoted to reading good books, watching television in my pajamas, and getting ready for the holidays.

Mostly by watching this movie (via Mykl Roventine, on Flickr)

Mostly by watching this movie (via Mykl Roventine, on Flickr)

So, to what, exactly, am I looking forward? Let’s see…

  • Getting hugs from my nephew
  • Baking and singing Simon and Garfunkel songs with my big sister
  • Getting a Christmas stocking for the first time
  • Home-cooked meals (because me heating up tinned goulash does not count)

And there will be even more lovely things in the New Year. Things like:

  • My parents coming to visit at Easter!
  • More sunlight after the solstice
  • The eventual return of warm weather
  • The class trip to Brussels in April

Naturally, it feels good to just let go of worries (for a little while, at least) and give over to the wonderful feeling of anticipation.

Incidentally, anticipation also tastes like cookies. (via EverySpoon, Flickr)

Incidentally, anticipation also tastes like cookies. (via EverySpoon, Flickr)

What are you most looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

