Holy Springtime, Batman!

Guess what, guys? It was FIFTY DEGREES outside today! Coming smack in the middle of a Viennese winter, you know what this meant?Beach

It’s basically spring! Now, I know, real spring is still a while away (March 20, if you want to be all precise about it), but I’m taking what I can get.

“But Victoria,” I hear you saying. “I thought you liked winter! Weren’t you coming over all enthusiastic about the sparkly lights and the hot punch?” True, and well done for paying attention. That said, I have a very simple feeling about snow and winter. Before Christmas, I love it! It’s pretty and sparkly and magical, and you can wear ugly sweaters and eat cookies and watch wonderful old movies. But after Christmas and New Year’s?

That’s when it’s time to take off the eggnog goggles and remember that winter is really incredibly cold. And it’s snowy, and icy, and that kind of windy that feels like a hundred little ice picks doing the Hopak on your face. Plus, between the blasting cold and the blasting heat we use to counteract it, your skin feels terrible. All of this was true before Christmas, but then, it’s atmospheric. It would be weird if it wasn’t icy and snowy, but once you don’t have a fantastic winter holiday to look forward to, the magic goes away pretty fast.

All of this is a very long way of saying that I got myself outside today to enjoy this nice warm weather. I wore my lightweight coat! I had to stuff my scarf and hat in my purse because it was too warm to wear them! I wished I had brought my sunglasses because it was so sunny!

Can you tell I'm excited? (Courtesy of fmgbain on flickr)

Can you tell I’m excited? (Courtesy of fmgbain on flickr)

Right now, it’s five o’clock. Recently, that has meant that it was pitch black, and the wind would start to pick up. But today?Winter 2012 039

Oh yeah, that’s right, it’s only sunset. Still not dark. Soon, it will be warm out all of the time, and I can wear sundresses and buy some new sandals and hang out in shops just because they have air conditioning. There will be picnics! And ice cream! And…having to start shaving my legs again, but it’s a small price to pay in exchange for some good old Vitamin D.

Feels so good.

Feels so good.

4 thoughts on “Holy Springtime, Batman!

  1. Bah humbug! We still have snow; and more is falling today and will fall tomorrow. It’s great for the ski areas…they got about 32 inches of it yesterday. I’m ready for some warm weather. I’ll take anything over 35 degrees.

    • That sounds so frustrating! It looks like another beautiful day here, so I’m going to get outside and enjoy the weather on your behalf. Plus, you’re visiting in a little under two months! Who knows how warm it will be then?

Leave a Reply

